SECC 2018

HSC Goal - 100% Employee Participation
Whether you give $2 or $1000, we hope you will participate!

SECC Q&A

What is the SECC?
Who Receives the Contributions?
How Do I Give to HSC-Affiliated Organizations?
What is a Leadership Giver?
How Do I Give?
Who is My Point of Contact?

What is the SECC?

The State Employee Charitable Campaign (SECC) was created through legislation in 1993 to raise funds for charitable organizations throughout the state, the nation, and the world.  Since then, Texas state employees have contributed $176 million. The campaign runs annually from September 1 through October 30.

Who Receives the Contributions?

You can choose from nearly 400 participating statewide, national, or international charities or a charity in your local area.  The organizations are listed online in SSO when you make your contribution (see How Do I Give? below) or you can search the SECC charity database here (examples of search terms include 'International,' 'Brazos Valley,' 'DFW,' 'Cancer,' or 'Children').  All participating organizations must meet strict eligibility standards established by state law, and they are screened by the SECC State Policy Committee.  You can feel confident that your gift is being used efficiently and effectively by your designated charity or charities.

How Do I Give to HSC-Affiliated Organizations?

All employees are encouraged to give to the charitable organizations of their choice.  However, you may wish to know that the charities below are affiliated with the Health Science Center and are SECC eligible organizations:

SECC Suggested Charities

What is a Leadership Giver?

A leadership giver is someone who donates $1,000 or more. If you choose to be acknowledged, your name will be listed in the Campaign Directory next year under your level of giving:  Lone Star ($10,000+), Alamo ($5,000-$9,999), Bluebonnet ($2,500-$4,999), or Yellow Rose ($1,000-$2,499). A&M employees who are spouses can each donate $500 to achieve this status. Talk to your SECC contact (see below) about how to do this.

How Do I Give?

You can make a contribution two ways:

  1. Make an outright contributionSECC Texas
    1. Donate online by 5 PM September 15.
    2. The 12th Man Foundation will provide 2 complimentary basketball tickets to select games for anyone who contributes at least $2 online.
    3. Go to sso.tamus.edu (login and select ‘SECC Enrollment’ from the SSO Menu)
    4. Select 'Payroll Deduction' or 'One-Time Gift by Check or Cash.'
      1. Payroll Deduction
        1. Select Payroll Deduction and indicate one-time, 9 Month, or 12 Month deduction
        2. Select your charity or charities and designate the amount of gift
        3. Complete and submit the form
        4. Start dates for deductions
          1. Monthly Employees: December 2018 (January Paycheck)
          2. Bi-weekly Employees: January 2019 (January Paycheck)
        5. Deductions can be stopped upon request by contacting your payroll office
      2. One-time gift by check or cash
        1. Select One-Time Gift by check or cash
        2. Select your charity or charities and designate the amount of gift
        3. Complete and submit the form
          1. Print out the post-submission page and send it to your unit coordinator (see Who is My Point of Contact? below) with check or cash
          2. Checks should be made out to SECC
  1. Contribute to a component/unit fundraiser
    1. Each component/unit will hold fundraisers from September 1 to October 30 (e.g. Breakfast Taco Tuesday, Blue Jeans Monday, Raffle Ticket Sales for Gift Basket etc.)
    2. The purpose of these fundraisers is to foster the SECC/TAMU spirit of giving and encourage ongoing donations during the campaign.
    3. Tickets to sporting events are not available to those contributing solely through fundraising events. Employees must make an outright donation online as indicated above.
      aggie helmet
  2. Make an online donation by Wednesday, September 19, 5:00 pm for a chance to enter the Early Bird Drawing (PDF) for Aggie football tickets and parking passes.

Who is My Point of Contact?

If you have questions, please contact your component/unit coordinator:

Area Coordinators

Component Contact Name Contact Email
Health Science Center Chris Kaunas ckaunas@tamhsc.edu
Health Science Center Dennis Lacaze lacaze@tamhsc.edu
HSC CIADM (HSC South) Leanna Vannoy vannoy@tamhsc.edu
HSC Finance & Administration Willie Hobbs whobbs@tamhsc.edu
Administration Angie Alaniz aalaniz@tamhsc.edu
Clinical Learning and Resource Center Sandy Campos sacampos@tamhsc.edu
Dentistry Pat Brouwer brouwer@tamhsc.edu
Medicine Marlene Nichols mjwong@tamhsc.edu
Marketing & Communications Victoria Perez vperez@tamhsc.edu
Nursing Kristina Reyes kreyes@tamhsc.edu
Pharmacy Eva Bennett bennett@tamhsc.edu
Public Health Debbie McClendon mcclendon@sph.tamhsc.edu

Medicine Unit Coordinators

Medicine - Unit Contact Name Contact Email Phone
BCS Clinical Campus Laura Ackerman ackerman@tamhsc.edu 979.436.0980
Temple Campus Debbie Boyd dboyd@tamhsc.edu 254.724.6853
Houston Methodist Campus Ruth Sanchez rsanchez3@houstonmethodist.org 713.441.4707
Round Rock Campus Sue Ann Saunders ssaunders@tamhsc.edu 512.341.4915
Medicine - Humanities in Medicine Department Sharon Alderete alderete@tamhsc.edu 979.436.0527
Medicine - Neuroscience & Experimental Therapeutics Department Mary Beck marybeck@tamhsc.edu 979.436.0316
Medicine - Medical Physiology Department Stephanie Hilliard shilliard@tamhsc.edu  979.436.0829
Medicine - Microbial Pathogenesis & Immunology Department LeeAnn Nichols nichols@tamhsc.edu  979.436.0348
A&M Rural & Community Health Institute Melissa Garza cmgarza@tamhsc.edu 979.436.0732
Coastal Bend Health Education Center Maria Garcia maria.garcia@tamhsc.edu 956.334.4659